Catalyn’s DELICIOUS Summer Snacks

Standard

Hey everyone! My name is Catalyn and I blog over at Confessions of a Northern Belle. I am helping out my blog-girl Stevie this week and was asked to blog about some healthy summer snacks. This was a pretty easy topic. I have always had a pretty bad stomach, so my diet is loaded with nutritious foods (most of the time)


{via Pinterest}



During the summer, I always love a good fruit salad. My dad makes the BEST fruit salad on the planet. He goes to the local orchard and buys apples, pineapples, oranges, watermelon, grapes, melon, watermelon, and whatever else they have. Then he cuts it all up, puts it in a bowl, and lets it sit for a few hours in the fridge. All of the juices meld together and it is so so refreshing and healthy!


Ignoring the melted butter in the picture, my family always eats steamed seafood at the beach. We have shrimp, little necks, lobster, and crab legs. All of this seafood is cooked in a big pot of boiling water with some lemons and spices. How could you go wrong with steamed seafood!?


My sister-in-law makes a delicious quinoa salad whenever we go to the beach. It if packed with protein and nutrients – contains quinoa, tomatoes, black beans, asparagus, and parsley. Her salad is so filling and won’t give you a belly bulge on the beach!


If you are trying to watch your weight in the summer, you can enjoy a fulfilling meal without the guilt. Everything in this picture is healthy and homemade! The vegetables and herbs shown are from a local farm, the mozzarella was handmade at the Italian store, and the bread was hand-cooked from the Italian store as well. Fresh and roasted vegetables are loaded with vitamins and something that makes you full. I know that grilling your corn on the cob locks in the flavor and there is nothing like it!
 
I hope you enjoyed my healthy summer snacks. Check out my blog to see more recipe posts and confessions of a northern belle

Leave a comment