To My Seester

Standard

I’ve been blogging for about 3 months now, and i’ve posted about my fiance, my cat, my mom, and my friends. Today, I really want to talk about my Seester, Paige. She’s going through some tough times and changes and I just wanted to take a minute to publicly celebrate all the amazing things about her, and tell her how awesome I think she is. I’m hoping you guys will comment and let her know how awesome she is too.

IMG_20111231_113950

Paige was born, in my head, as “pretty perfect princess Paige.” I wanted less than nothing to do with the little monkey who caused me to lose my only child status. She was the diva to my tomboy, the glitter to my dirt. We had nothing in common except the bedroom we shared. And yet, she grew on me.

IMG_20111231_113104

When my parents split up, when I was 12 and Paige was 7, we again drifted apart. We had different opinions on which parent we wanted to be with, and when. I was entering middle school and couldn’t be bothered with Paige. She was discovering HER tomboy side, playing sports and making new friends. We again didn’t have much in common.

Then, in the spring of 2010, Paige came to visit me at Virginia Tech. I look at this weekend as the weekend that EVERYTHING changed for us. Suddenly, we weren’t just sisters, we clicked as best friends. She became a person I didn’t even know I had needed so badly in my life.

167321_1605764711747_7704853_n

Look, the long and short of it is this: Paige is struggling. She herself is now a Hokie, and she is, to put it politely, getting her ass kicked. Some things she could control, some she can’t, but I really want her to know, on a public forum the whole world can read, that I believe in her. That others believe in her too. That this too shall pass and make her stronger to face the next challenge life will hand her… because there will be more.

She’s 20 years old guys, and she’s having trouble with money, with where she wants to go with her life, with relationships and responsibilities. I KNOW you’ve all been there, so please, take two seconds and comment here with some words of encouragement, and then encourage the rest of your friends to do the same. I want Paige to know that she’s NOT alone out there in the world, that all she needs to do is reach out, and support will be there.

Thanks ❤

7 responses »

  1. Paige- So, you have no idea who I am but I have gotten a chance to really talk to your sister and she is such a wonderful person, funny thing when I saw the title I knew you two had a strong bond, I call my little sis “ister”, I mean she’s more than a sister! All to say, now it’s hard and it will get harder but know you have people praying, believing and rooting for you, they KNOW you can do it! When it seems things are too hard or you just can’t see the end result remember WHY you are doing this and WHO you are doing it for, yourself! Continue to push yourself & dream big, nothing comes without a little hardwork! Again, you may not know me from anything but if you EVER need someone to talk to I’ll listen, that’s if you don’t mind hearing a crying baby! I wish you nothing but the best lady, you can do it!! xoxox

  2. Paige,
    I haven’t met you but I really admire and respect your sister. I can relate to your struggles because I am also going through one of the toughest years of my life. Please know that it won’t always be this hard! I promise there will be a day when things are easier. Also, choosing to be a Hokie is one of the best decisions you could ever make and will benefit you for a lifetime. Heck, I’ve never met you but as Hokies I already know we have a lot in common. You can and will overcome your struggles and Stevie will be right there to encourage you.

  3. Paige – we’ve all been there!!! Being 20 can suck, it is an awkward time in your life – being on the verge of adulthood and complete independence from everything you have ever been able to fall back on. Keep your chin up and let your sister help you! She sounds amazing and like she is full of advice 🙂

    Thanks for linking up with us today! http://www.confessionsofanorthernbelle.com

  4. Paige, just wanted to let you know I am praying for you! Not sure what you are going through but all I know is that you have a sister who loves you so much, and a God who loves you even more. Keep up your positive attitude and know that things will get better!!

  5. Paige! it doesn’t matter how old you are, shtuff is going to come up and you’re going to have to face and deal with things even if it’s at the crappiest time. People are going to say things that might be considered encouraging… like: “things will get better”, “you’ll figure it out, you have plenty of time”, “things happen for a reason”, or worse “it will all work out in the long run”.

    Lets face it… you don’t give a crap about what happens years from now it’s the “right now” that you need to push through. It’s the “right now” that needs to work itself out — and fast! It’s in this “right now” you need things to get better.

    I’m speaking from experience… I have been on one heck of a brutal schedule with many things in my life and deadlines aren’t exactly comforting. Things that matter most in life seem to happen so damn quickly and they go by way too fast: holidays with the family, special moments with boyfriends, weekends spending time with the most important people in your life, celebrating someone’s 90th birthday, etc etc. And then there are those other things that matter so much in life that really will impact you in so many ways but they seem to take FOREVER to finally come around: the next step in your relationship, job searching for a job where you can finally put your college degree to good use, mending a horrid relationship with a family member, etc etc.

    While going through my personal frustrations with many things I am constantly reminded that I am healthy, I am bright, and I am determined — not everyone has these qualities. And you, my friend, are lucky to have these qualities. If you have your health and are determined (and lets face it, we are both lucky that we have amazing support systems) you will eventually succeed with whatever it is that you want. Until that day comes, there is nothing wrong to be hurt and upset that your hard work hasn’t gotten you to where you want to be, you’re allowed to cry, you absolutely can hate those people out there that everything comes easy to. Trust me, I have done this. But whatever you do, don’t stop striving forward.

    So here’s my annoying statement and advice that I am going to share with you: Don’t stop moving forward — you don’t have to be sprinting miles a minute to be moving some where, move an inch or a step a day and eventually you will end up where you want to be! It’s better to move forward, even if it’s not very far, than standing still or moving backwards. There are so many people that are moving so quickly, so quickly it will cause them to miss out on the important things in life. I’d rather persevere through tough times and count my blessings than get instant satisfaction but be lonely or miss out on important things. The grass is greener on the other side, right?

    **and remember — you have what many people don’t have: amazing siblings and an AMAZING mother who adore you! You have the gift of what so many people never experience in life. After years of frustration, I have finally realized how lucky I am to have a support system. without it… I wouldn’t know who I would be or where I would go in life.

    YOU GOT THIS, PAIGE! KNOCK ‘EM DEAD! 😉

  6. Paige,

    I went through my “quarter-life crisis” when I was 23. All of those fears you’re having..they’re natural. Some people aren’t hit as badly as others, but just know you’re not alone. I had to have a SERIOUS (read: ugly cry) conversation with God about which route I should take with my life. I don’t talk about faith and religion much on my blog, but it was truly an experience I will always remember.

    Feel free to reach out to us in the blogging community!

  7. Beautiful Paige,

    Oh girl. You don’t know me, but can I just tell you that your early twenties can be rough? I’m sitting here…just on the other side of them at almost 27. And looking back, I never really allowed myself to think, “THIS IS SO TOUGH!!” while I was in them. I never let myself ask for help. I just allowed myself to get eaten up by them. Between 18-22, I flunked several semesters of college due to depression, I spent my money in silly ways, I gained a ton of weight + body image issues, I emotionally committed myself to boys who I never even should have given my number, etc, etc.

    Ish. It was not the best time of my life.

    But let me tell you something, it gets better. Just remember that you control where you go from here! That’s cheesy, I know. But also an empowering and scary thought. It still freaks me out a little, too.

    I always thought I would wake up and life would be crystal clear…and there’d be this perfect little path illuminated saying, “Hey, Bethany. This is the path for you!!” But, unfortunately there isn’t. It’s just a lot of relying on your heart + the people you trust to guide you into the right places. Trust both yourself + them! And don’t be afraid to ask for help. I realized how much easier and better life became when I did ask for help. (And I needed help with every aspect: emotional, physical, financial, scholastic, etc.)

    Over the course of three years I ultimately wound up talking to a counselor regularly, heading back to school (where I got almost all A’s!), digging myself out of my mental health problems, meeting a wonderful guy (now my husband), getting wise with my cash and seeing the world.

    Sorry to talk about me, but it’s what I know…and just want to say that I’ve been there and back! Life still isn’t perfect, but it can be pretty freaking good sometimes. 🙂

    So, I hope you wake up today…and believe in yourself, girl .Cause you can do amazing things if you just chip away at it day by day. 🙂 I know it!

Leave a Reply

