Wedding Diaries: Thoughts

Standard

There are less than 6 months until the day I become a “Mrs.” I feel like that’s so close, considering how long we have been together, and yet so far away when I think about what our last 6 months have held. We have been through so much since the day we got engaged… There is almost nothing in our lives now that are the same as they were then. Not geographically, not academically, not financially… And yet here we are, together, and making it work.

So, this post today is more for me than for all of you, a milestone to look back at when there are 2 months, three weeks, or five days until the wedding. To see where we were at, and to laugh at what we didn’t yet know. To track this journey for our future children, our friends, our family.

I asked Fiancé “How are you feeling about the wedding right now?” This was his response: “I feel… Good. I don’t really feel like its hit me yet, we’ve been together so long I don’t know if its going to hit me until we get a lot closer, where its like… Holy crap I’m getting married.”

He’s right to think this way. I asked him such a broad question because I didn’t want to lead his answer. When I thought about this post I was thinking about updating where we are at in the planning process, where our Bach party was going to be, how blocking hotels was going. Instead, Fiancé reminded me that when I say “less than 6 months” that’s a countdown to the MARRIAGE before it is a countdown to the WEDDING. The relationship is more important than anything else.

So, for the end of this post, I want to talk about relationships that are so important to both of us. We had a great chat with our best man, Mike, tonight and it really reinforced for both of us how excited we are to get to spend so much time with all of our friends from all the stages of our lives and our relationship. Fiancé and I are from the same small town in PA, met in college, which was 6 hours away from said small town, and now live somewhere else entirely. We have never had all of the people we love together all at once like we will for this wedding, and tonight that is what we focused on.

So, Stevie of 6 months from now, know this: the details aren’t overwhelming you right now. Your amazing bridal party is taking care of all of the parties to be had, your awesome mom is working her tail off blocking a bridal suite for you to get ready in, your in-laws are signing and sending contracts left and right, and because of these RELATIONSHIPS you can appreciate all the beauty of a wedding, not the stress.

For now.

3 responses »

  1. Love this post, lady! It is SO true that it’s so easy to get caught up in all the stressful details of the wedding when what REALLY matters is your future spouse and your life ahead. Believe me, it doesn’t “hit you” that you’re actually getting married until you are walking down that aisle — so enjoy every minute of it! 😉

    • I’m so grateful to have a husband to be and family who are all on this same page as well… I have seen people lose their minds over weddings! Your blog has really been inspiring me to stay in this mindset lately, so thank YOU for being such a great role model!

Leave a Reply

