Mondays with Mom!

Standard

Hello everyone, its Mom again!

When we started this I promised not to preach and to deliver my perspective from your point of view.  However, today I am having trouble sharing my thoughts and not sounding preachy.

In recent posts Stevie has mentioned a longing for her old apartment, a friend moving to a better job, and signing up with direct sales as a Stella and Dot Stylist.  I have so much I’d like to tell everyone like how she (or many of you) might always long for that first apartment and all the freedom and fun that her life allowed to her at that time.  That friends will come and go but…one is silver and the other is gold, and when you have a dream that is yours alone, as little as it may seem, you should do what it takes to make it come true.

So, Moms advice is this.

1. Your first apartment will always be special…when I found myself  single,  I had to put all three of my children in the master bedroom of a small 2 bedroom apartment.  I couldn’t wait to get out of there.  Once I was moving out someone very near and dear to me (my husband) reminded me that no matter how much I didn’t like it there, I would always have special memories of our time there.  If you are intrigued, message Stevie and ask her about kitchen bowling, American Idol living room voting, and skunks.   She will have wonderful hilarious and endearing stories to tell you.

2.  Stevie: I am so proud of you embracing your friend Norah’s new job.  It would be easy to resent her leaving. Its hard to not see every day someone who you spend so much time with and who makes each day a little brighter.  Make it a point to stay in touch with dear Norah.  I have not had the pleasure of meeting her yet but I have heard enough to know your friendship has been good for both of you. And it is all to easy to let those friendships fade as you get older.

3.  When Stevie was little  (I think she was around 8) I decided to do direct sales too.  I had no good reason other than selfishness.  I wanted the product and I knew I couldn’t afford them.  It turned out to be one of the best decisions I made.  There are too many positive lasting effects  to list here but  I wish you all the best in your new endeavor Stevie, and I will do whatever I can to help you.  You will be the best accessorized gal in D.C.!!!

To the readers: All I can say is sorry for the preaching.  In keeping with theme of finding bright spots, my 25 year old Singer sewing machine broke this past weekend. The bright spot?  Next week I will share with you how my brand new Project Runway sewing machine is working out for me!

2 responses »

  1. Our nostalgia is for our 2nd apartment where we lived for 8 years. The first place was…not so nice. But I hear you! And you didn’t sound preachy to me.

Leave a Reply

